Congrats to all of our Road Race drivers who ran the 2017 National Championships at Indy! Here's our results:

Formula C,
William Hoops, Qualified 12, Finished 10

Formula V,
Curt Bennett, Qualified 30, Finished 30

E Production,
Rick Kavitsky, Qualified 2, Finished 35
Greg Kasprzyk, Qualified 31, Finished 14

Prototype 1,
Darryl Shoff, Qualified 6, Finished 3

Spec Miata,
Marc Cefalo, Qualified 19, Finished 24
James DiFinnis, Qualified 68, Finished 47
John Costello, Qualified 33, Finished 71

Brian Bogart, Qualified 57, Finished 46

***MEETING CHANGE** The NEPASCCA General Meeting has been changed from 9/27 to 10/4.

WILKES-BARRE Joseph Carl Wilkie, 85, of Wilkes-Barre, passed away on July 21, 2017, at Celtic Hospice.

Born April 4, 1932, in Wilkes-Barre, he was a son of the late Harry L. and Margaret (Weiner) Wilkie. A graduate of G.A.R. Memorial High School, Joe continued his education at Kings' College.

A U.S. Army veteran of the Korean Conflict, he later served more than 30 years with the reserves in the Pennsylvania National Guard, 109th Infantry and retired as Platoon Sergeant in 1992.

Joe worked for A&P Markets and Auto World before taking a position with Bronsbug & Hughes. He retired from Wyoming Valley Motors as a parts manager.

A member of the Sports Car Club of America since 1959, Joe held several positions, including regional executive, treasurer, activities director and secretary of the northeast division. In the early years of his racing career, he participated in road rallies and gymkhanas, then moved on to hill climbs and road racing.

He started racing in an MGA and purchased his first Formula Ford car in 1970. He raced that car until 1981 when he moved on to a 1981 Van Diemen RF81 Formula Ford. When his racing career ended, he became the announcer for the Giant's Despair and Weatherly hill climbs.

Brothers, Harry, Robert, Jerry, Alan and Tom Wilkie; and a sister, Judy Nealon, preceded him in death.

Joe will be greatly missed by his wife, the former Damaris "Dee" Spayder; daughter, Beth Ann Ritz; granddaughter, Jessica and her husband, Patrick Cawley; great-grandchildren, Alexis, Aiden and another great-granddaughter due in September; sisters, Margaret Wilkie and Karen McManus; brother-in-law, Joseph and his wife, Janice Spayder; nieces, nephews, other family and many lifelong friends.

Celebration of Joe's life will begin with visitation from 5 to 8 p.m. on Wednesday at McLaughlin's, 142 S. Washington St., Wilkes-Barre and continue there with a gathering at 10 a.m. on Thursday, followed by services at 10:30 a.m. Interment will be in Saint Mary's Cemetery.

Memories and condolences may be shared with Joe's family at www.celebratehislife.com.

Published in Times Leader from July 23 to July 24, 2017

***MEETING DATE CHANGE** The NEPASCCA General Meeting date for May has been changed to June 27th.

***MEETING DATE CHANGE** The NEPASCCA General Meeting date for May has been changed to June 7th.

With the temporary loss of the Williamsport Airport, we were forced to make a few changes to the Solo Schedule for 2017. The schedule as shown on the Solo Schedule page is accurate.

Congrats to everyone who won an award at the 2016 Season NEPASCCA Banquet! The list of winners is as follows:
Barry Sarr Solo Driver of the Year - Adam Koback
Marty Newman Solo Member of the Year - Paul Fink
Tim Mayer "Best New Road Racer" - Dave Thompson
Bud Faust Most Improved Road Racer of the Year - Frank Varano
Joe & Dee Wilkie Member of the Year - Matt Kujat
Oscar Kovelski Road Racer of the Year - Jon Gorski
Dan Lipperini King of the Hill - Brian Dion

NEPASCCA Solo Class Award Winners:
'B Street'
1T Haydu, Chris
2T Schneck, Thomas
3 Black, Jessica
4 Fagan, James

'D Street'
1T Springer, Rob
2T Sullivan SR, Mike
3 Sullivan, Lisa
4 Mauro, Melissa

'E Street'
1T Rothman, Kyle
2 Ngo, Albert
3 Streever, Dick

'F Street'
1T Yonkin, Roderick

'G Street'
1T Myers, Joe

'H Street'
1T Rynkiewicz, Mike

'Street Touring S'
1T Wozniak, Jeff
2 Popeck, Jason

'Street Touring X'
1T Min, Derrick

'Street Touring R'
1T Koback, Adam
2T Gromel, Cody
3T Walter, David
4 Kettler, Chad
5 Pingarelli, Robert
6 Rymell, Jason
7 Barto, Kenneth

'Street Touring U'
1T Colton, Derek
2 Pena, Manny
3 Collins, Bob

'S Street Prepared'
1T Savage, David

'A Street Prepared'
1T Ling, Peter
2 Tinder, Evan

'B Street Prepared'
1T Bahrt, James

'C Street Prepared'
1T Brennan, Joe
2 Fink, Paul

'E Street Prepared'
1T Long, Guy

'F Street Prepared'
1T Cramm, Tanner

"S Street R'
1T Engles, Mark

1T Redden, Derek
2 McHenry, Steven

1T Redden, David

'X Prepared'
1T Miller, Kevin
2 Cuprisin, John

'C Prepared'
1T Cunningham, Michael

'Street Modified F'
1T Edwards, Jay

'Street Modified'
1T Kuehner, Ryan

'A Modified'
1T Marsh, Steve

'F Modified'
1T Baylor, Andrew

'Junior Kart A'
1T Popeck, RJ

'B Street Ladies'
1T Hall, Kimberly

'E Street Ladies'
1T Baylor, Sarah

The NEPASCCA Banquet will be held on 2/4/17 at Capriotti's in McAdoo at 6pm.
Click -HERE- to register ONLINE for the 2016 NEPASCCA Banquet. Online Registration is handled through "MyAutoEvents" so if you don't already have a Login/Password for this site, you will have to take a few moments to create your account.

Or for a paper copy of the RSVP that you could mail in with your check, visit the DOWNLOADS section of this webpage by clicking on the DOWNLOADS link on your left or by clicking -HERE-

The 3rd Annual MotorWorld Auto Group Regional Solo at Pocono Raceway was held on June 10/11/12. With over 140 drivers per day, the event sold out quickly and was the largest regional in NEPASCCA history. Great weather and an awesome weekend of racing was had by all. We'll be back to do this again in the fall. : )

The 2016 Race Season has begun. Check the schedule pages for an event near you.

Congrats to everyone who won an award at the 2015 Season NEPASCCA Banquet! The list of winners is as follows:
Barry Sarr Solo Driver of the Year - Kevin MacDonald
Marty Newman Solo Member of the Year - Jason and RJ Popeck
Tim Mayer "Best New Road Racer" - Taylor Handwerk
Bud Faust Most Improved Road Racer of the Year - Jon Gorski
Joe & Dee Wilkie Member of the Year - Cody Gromel
Oscar Kovelski Road Racer of the Year - Jack Maloney

NEPASCCA Solo Class Award Winners:
'B Street'
Ling, Peter
Axford Sr. Alden

'C Street'
McDonald, Kevin

'D Street'
Fedon, Barry
Sullivan SR, Mike

'F Street'
Walter, David
Pfirman, Danny

'G Street'
Myers, Joe

'S Street Prepared'
Savage, David

'A Street Prepared'
Hockenbury, Cory
Hockenbury, Ryan

'B Street Prepared'
Bahrt, James

'E Street Prepared'
Long, Guy

'X Prepared'
Miller, Kevin

'A Modified'
Marsh, Steve

"S Street R'
Engles, Mark

'Street Touring FWD'
Butchko, Joe

'Street Touring S'
Shea, Michael
Popeck, Jason
McHenry, Steven
Wozniak, Jeff

'Street Touring X'
Fink, Paul
Min, Derrick
Sweezy, Dwight

'Street Touring R'
Gromel, Cody
Pingarelli, Robert

'Street Touring U'
Colton, Derek
Ngo, Albert
Collins, Bob

'Street Modified'
Sandy, Pete
Rymell, Jason

'Street Modified F'
Haydu, Chris
Bower, Andy

'Super Street Modified'
Brennan, Joe

'B Modified'
Zabriski, John

'F125 Shifter Kart'
Ayre, John

'Junior Kart A'
Baylor, Sarah

'Junior Kart B'
Ayre, Kaden

'Junior Kart C'
Carpentier, Benecio

'B Street Ladies'
Hall, Kimberly

Redden, Derek

Past NEPASCCA News Articles
2015 News
2014 News
2013 News
2012 News
2011 News
2010 News
2009 News
2008 News
2007 News
2006 News
2005 News
2004 News